Show all

Wycliffe receives coveted “Louie” Award!

The Louis Armstrong House Museum’s year-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of “What A Wonderful World” culminated with the museum’s Annual Gala paying tribute to Louis Armstrong and those who continue his legacy.

This year’s event, which was held on January 23rd at Capitale in Manhattan, presented the Louie Award to the 2017 honoree, trombonist Wycliffe Gordon.

Louis Armstrong

Past recipients of the Louie Award include Quincy Jones, Dick Cavett, Dr. John, George Avakian, Jon Faddis and Robert F. Smith. Following the ceremony, Wycliffe Gordon & His International All Stars closed the evening with a special performance.

The Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation is dedicated to perpetuating the legacies of Louis and Lucille Armstrong throughout the world. Their generosity, donating Louie’s and Lucille’s Corona home to the city of New York and Armstrong’s archives to CUNY Queens College, made it possible for the creation of the Louis Armstrong House Museum. The LAEF is a long-time donor and supporter of the LAHM, and their vision, generosity and dedication to preserving Louis Armstrong’s legacy will be honored in a special ceremony.